National Conference on Contingent Academic Labor

Jan 12-14, 2001, San Jose, California

National Conference on Contingent Academic Labor

See the Conference Agenda

Advisory Committee:

Joe Berry, Roosevelt Adjunct Faculty Organization/IEA/NEA

David Kuchta, University of California/UC-AFT

Eric Marshall, CUNY

Richard Moser, National Field Representative, AAUP

Margaret Quan, CPFA

Vicky Smallman, CAUT
Professional Officer-Organizing / Agent professionelle-syndicalisation
Canadian Association of University Teachers/
Association canadienne des professeures et professeurs d'université

Karen Thompson, Rutgers University, AAUP

Greg Tropea, California State University/CFA

David West, Center for a Changing Workforce, Seattle

Gary Zabel, COCAL Boston


Coalition of Contingent Academic Labor,
American Association of University Professors,
The University of California University Lecturers UC-AFT,
The Lecturers' Council of the California State University CFA,
California Part-Time Faculty Association,
Faculty Association - San Jose - Evergreen Community College District
Communication Workers of America,
Community College Association/CTA,
The Foothill-DeAnza Faculty Association
The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges,
DeAnza College Academic Senate
Foothill College Academic Senate
Faculty Association of California Community Colleges,
National Alliance for Fair Employment (NAFFE),
Community College Council/CFT,
San Jose City College,
American Philosophical Association,
CPFA-Southern Region,
The Modern Language Association,
Conference on College Composition and Communication
, and
San Jose Firefighters, IAFF Local 230,
National Education Association (NEA),
AFT College Faculty Guild, Local 1521 (Los Angeles),
American Federation of Teachers,


San Jose City College Academic Senate
Santa Monica College Faculty Association,
Faculty Coalition for Public Higher Education (FCPHE)
Evergreen Valley College Academic Senate
Moorpark College Academic Senate
California Community College Independents (CCCI)
The University of Calgary Faculty Association
The American Folklore Society,
Ventura County Federation of College Teachers, AFT Local 1828,
The Bay Faculty Association
West Valley-Mission CCD Association of Professional Educators
Allan Hancock College Academic Senate,
California Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (CATESOL),
Santa Barbara City College Instructors' Association
American Association of University Women (AAUW), San Jose
American Association of University Women (AAUW), California,
All Faculty Association, Santa Rosa Junior College,
9 to 5 Bay Area, National Association of Working Women,
Primerica Financial Group,
National Coalition of Independent Scholars
Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL),

Steering Committee

Mary Ellen Goodwin; Chair
CPFA Director of Administration
DeAnza College Faculty Association Executive Council
San Jose City College Faculty Association Executive Board
San Jose City College Academic Senate
Instructor of ESL, DeAnza College and San Jose City College
Cupertino, San Jose

Sandy Baringer;
CPFA Director of Communications
Faculty Association California Community Colleges Part-time Committee;
Palomar Faculty Federation CFT/AFT Interim Executive Committee;
Modern Language Association Executive Committee for the Non-Tenure Track Faculty Discussion Group
Instructor of English, Palomar College
San Marcos
and UC Riverside

Deborah Brasket;
CPFA Director of Publications, Editor of the CPFA Pro News
President, Allan Hancock College Part-time Faculty Association /CWA
FACCC Professional Development Committee Member
Instructor of English, Allan Hancock College
Santa Maria

Martin Goldstein;
CPFA Director of Public Relations
Instructor in Screenwriting, Emerson College,
Los Angeles
Instructor of Communications, Santa Monica College
Santa Monica

Therese Gray
CPFA Founding Member
Special Education Instructor Coast College District, North Orange County College District &
Rancho Santiago College District
CFT Executive Council Coast College District
CFT Statewide Part time Representative
FACCC Legal Committee

John Leopold
Associate Director, Working Partnerships USA, San Jose, CA
Member, Cabrillo College Governing Board

David Milroy
CPFA Southern Regional Representative
Instructor of French
Mesa and Mira Costa Colleges
Grossmont and Southwestern Colleges
CFT/CCC, Southern Part-Timer Committee, Chair
FACCC Part Timer Committee
CTA/CCA Part-Timer Committee

Lantz Simpson;
CPFA Legislative Analyst and President of SMC Faculty Union
Instructor of English, Santa Monica College
Santa Monica

Chris Storer;
CPFA Council Chair
Instructor of Philosophy, De Anza College

Robert Yoshioka
Member, FACCC Board of Governors
Vice President, Allan Hancock College Part Time Faculty Association - CWA
Instructor of Sociology and Political Science, Allan Hancock College
Santa Maria

Ralph Sutter
CPFA Webmaster
Instructor of Spanish, Cuesta College
San Luis Obispo

For more information, please contact Mary Ellen Goodwin;

Left ArrowReturn to the COCAL IV Opening Page

Last modified by

CSS buttonWDG logo

California Part-time Faculty Association
2118 Wilshire Blvd.
P M B 392
Santa Monica, CA 90403

Copyright © 2001 California Part-Time Faculty Association. All Rights Reserved.
Please send your comments regarding this site to